What I Want to Learn in 2013

Happy 2013!  I am excited to be starting a new year– it really does feel like a clean slate in many ways and I am optimistic about what this year holds for all of us.

As the first day of 2013 comes to a close, I want to take just a moment to share some of the goals I have for myself this year.  I’m really not a fan of “resolutions” because I think most people set New Years Resolutions that they have no real intention, desire, or plan to see-through for the year; so, when they fail, they get depressed and disappointed in themselves.  To avoid setting myself up for failure, I choose to rather make lists of things that I want to do, learn, create, and experience in the coming year.

Here are two of my lists for you to get an idea of how I am focusing my energies in 2013.

In 2013, I want to learn how to:

  • Sew
  • Knit
  • Make soap
  • Make candles
  • Shoot a gun
  • Start plants from seedlings
  • Grow a vegetable garden
  • Speak Spanish (at least basic conversational Spanish)

In 2013, I want to create:

  • At least one article of wearable clothing
  • A thriving vegetable garden
  • A warm, cozy living environment
  • A successful online store
  • An organized work space for all of my projects and creative work
  • An eBook

What are your goals and/or plans for 2013?  What will you be learning and creating this year?  Share in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

